Auckland Therapy Counselling and Psychotherapy

Auckland Therapy Useful Links

Useful link to some community organisations and government funded services that offer information, support, counselling and other psychological services.

Aids Foundation

NZ Aids Foundation nzaf.org.nz

Alcohol & Drugs Services

 
Alcoholics Anonymous alcoholics-anonymous.org.nz
Care NZ carenz.co.nz
Community Alcohol & Drug Services (CADS) cads.org.nz
The Bridge (Salvation Army Services) sab.org.nz
Wingz Trust Residential Support wingstrust.co.nz
Higher Ground Drug Rehabilitation Trust higherground.org.nz
Narcotics Anonymous nzna.org
Drug Help Webiste drughelp.org.nz

Anger & Violence Management Courses

 
Shine 2shine.org.nz
Man Alive manalive.org.nz
North Harbour Living Without Violence livingwithoutviolence.org.nz

Child & Family Services

 
Barnardos Family Services barnardos.org.nz
Werry Centre (child mental health) werrycentre.org.nz

Citizens Advice Bureau

 

For advice on services in your area
Citizens Advice Bureau

www.cab.org.nz

Community Resources Directory

 
Engage Aotearoa compile and extensive
directory of community resources
engagenz.co.nz

Depression Information & Support

 
There is a way through (as with JK on TV) depression.org.nz
The Low Down thelowdown.co.nz
Beating the blues beatingtheblues.co.nz
Beyond Blue beyondblue.org.au

Grief Organisations

 
Grief Centre griefcentre.org.nz
Skylight (particularly children & teens) skylight.org.nz

Government District & Regional Services

 
Health Point (Ak DHB services) healthpoint.co.nz

Low Cost Counselling Options

 
Lifeline lifeline.org.nz
Youthline youthline.co.nz
Home & Family Counselling homeandfamily.org.nz
AUT Psychotherapy Clinic (adult & child services) aut.ac.nz/study-at-aut/study-areas/health-sciences/psychotherapy/psychotherapy-clinics
Family Court justice.govt.nz/family-justice
Family Action: Whanua Toa familyaction.org.nz

Men's Support Organisations

 
Man Alive manalive.org.nz
Male Survivors of Sexual Abuse Trust mssat.org.nz

Mental Health Support Organisations    

 
Recovery Sollutions recoverysolutions.co.nz
Connect Supporting Recovery connectsr.org.nz
Equip Community Services equip.net.nz
Mental Health Commission mhc.govt.nz
Mental Health Foundation mentalhealth.org.nz
Supporting Families in Mental Illness supportingfamilies.org.nz
Framework Trust framework.org.nz
Auckland DHB Community Mental Health
Emergency Crisis Response Team
0800 800 717

Phobias

 
Phobic Trust phobic.org.nz

Professional Organisations

 
NZ Association of Counsellors nzac.org.nz
NZ Association of Psychotherapists nzap.org.nz
Psychotherapists Board pbanz.org.nz
The Addiction Practitioners’ Association, Aotearoa-NZ dapaanz.org.nz

Phone Helplines

 
Healthline - free advice (including mental health issues) from trained registered nurses - (24 hour) 0800 611 116
Lifeline (24 hour) (09) 5222 999 within Auckland.
0800 543 354 outside Auckland
Youthline (24 hour) 0800 37 66 33 (free phone from landline)
Alcohol & Drug Helpline (10am to 10pm) 0800 787 797  
Auckland Sexual Abuse Help Crisis Line (24 hours) (09) 623 1700
Gambling helpline (24 hour) 0800 654 655
Kidsline - for kids (4pm - 6pm weekdays) 0800 KIDSLINE (0800 54 37 54)
Outline - Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (9am - 9pm, Mon - Fri. 6pm - 9pm, Sat, Sun & Holidays) 0800 OUTLINE (6885 463)
Samaritans (24 hour) 0800 726 666
What's Up - for kids and teenagers. (daily from 1pm - 11pm) 0800 942 8787

Residential Psychiatric Services

 
Ashburn House (Dunedin) ashburn.co.nz

Raeburn House

 
A range of low cost groups, workshops and programmes addressing, stress, anxiety, depression, self confidence, sexual abuse etc raeburnhouse.org.nz

Sexual Abuse

 
Auckland Sexual Abuse Help helpauckland.org.nz
Auckland Sexual Abuse Help sexualabusehelp.org.nz
Male Survivors of Sexual Abuse Trust survivor.org.nz

Transgender / Transsexual

 
Agender (Gender issues) agender.org.nz

Post Natal Depression

 
Post Natal Distress postnataldistress.co.nz
TABS: Trauma & birth stress tabs.org.nz

Self-help

 
Mindfulness (Ak uni website) calm.auckland.ac.nz

Victim Support (NZ Police)

 
Victim Support victimsupport.org.nz

Emergencies

If you or someone close to you is seriously unwell or at imminent risk of harming themselves or another please seek urgent medical attention, immediate advice from a telephone help line such as Healthline 0800 611 116 or immediate help from emergency services 111.